

## **Policy Committee Meeting Minutes**

Subject	Vergennes PEL Study Policy Committee Meeting – Secondary
	Screening
Date and Time	April 3, 2023, 10:00 a.m. – 12:00 p.m.
Location	Zoom Virtual Meeting
Policy Committee Member Attendees	Voting Members: Chair – Adam Lougee (ACRPC), ACRPC Bill Smith (Vermont Truck and Bus Association), Trucking* Brent Rakowski, (ACRPC Transportation Advisory Committee), ACRPC* Clark Hinsdale (Town of Ferrisburgh), Municipal Appointee Diane Lanpher (State Representative from Vergennes), Legislature Dickie Austin (City of Vergennes), Municipal Appointee Jeff Nelson (Town of Addison), Municipal Appointee Jesse Devlin (VTrans), VTrans Katharine Otto (VTrans), VTrans Mary Rudd (Town of Panton), Municipal Appointee Matt Birong (State Representative from Vergennes), Legislature* Phil Summers (Addison County Chamber of Commerce), Business* Tim Glassberg (Town of Waltham), Municipal Appointee Brian Shupe (VNRC), Environmental** Jubilee McGill (State Representative from New Haven, Weybridge and Bridport), Legislature** Ian Huizenga (City of Vergennes), Municipal Appointee** Mike Audy (Town of New Haven), Municipal Appointee** Renny Perry (Vergennes Partnership), Business** Non-Voting Members: Chris Jolly (FHWA), FHWA Jacqueline DeMent (FHWA), FHWA Elizabeth Shipley (FHWA), FHWA Mike Winslow (ACRPC), Observer Joel Perrigo, (VTrans), Observer Amy Bell (VTrans), Observer**
Study Team Attendees	Ken Robie (D&K) Stephanie Camay (WSP) Laura Toole (WSP) Maya Miller (WSP) Delia Makhetha (WSP)
	Annabelle Dally (WSP)**



Vergennes PEL Study Policy Committee Meeting - Secondary Screening April 3, 2023, 10:00 a.m. - 12:00 p.m.

AGENCY OF TRANSPORTATION

Members of the	Howard Hall, Town of Panton
Public	Tim Cowan, Vergennes
Attendees	Gretchen Bailey, Panton resident

<sup>\*</sup>Joined late

## **Meeting Synopsis**

Quorum was met and the meeting was officially called to order by Adam Lougee, the Chair of the Policy Committee at 10:10 a.m. on Monday, April 3, 2023.

This meeting included a presentation from the study team reviewing the initial criteria and the introduction of the secondary screening criteria. The secondary screening methodology and results were presented to the Policy Committee. The purpose of the meeting was for the Policy Committee to reach consensus on two questions from the Study Team.

The Policy Committee was asked, "Do you agree with the results of the initial screening?" Of the eighteen voting Policy Committee members, 13 were present to vote. Thirteen responded "yes," zero responded "no." A consensus was reach on question one. The Policy committee agrees with the results of the initial screening.

The Policy Committee was then asked, "Do you agree with the concepts recommended moving forward for further study?" Of the eighteen voting Policy Committee members, 13 were present to vote. Thirteen responded "yes," zero responded "no.". Three of these "yes" votes had caveats or additional comments which were related to town boundaries, the pink-blue route and the green route. A consensus was reached on question two. The Policy Committee agrees with concepts recommended moving forward for further study.

Members of the Policy Committee were encouraged to ask questions and provide additional feedback on the concepts presented. Time was provided for any members of the public to ask questions. Meeting minutes will be drafted and posted to the project website.

Representative Diane Lanpher, State Representative from Vergennes, motioned for the meeting to be adjourned. The motion was seconded by Matt Birong, State Representative from Vergennes. The meeting was officially adjourned at 11:12 a.m. by Adam Lougee, the Chair of the Policy Committee.

Note – More detailed meeting notes will be published later in April 2023. The meeting recording is available on the website.

2 Meeting Synopsis

<sup>\*\*</sup>Invited, but not present